Cubs maul opposition on way to state title

TORRINGTON – The Cody Cubs went a perfect 5-0 en route to the team’s fourth state championship in five years on Sunday morning at Dean Bullock Field in Torrington.

In the five games, the Cubs won four by the 10-run rule and the championship by six runs over the Cheyenne Hawks, pushing the club win-total record to 55 wins in 2018.

Over the five games, the Cubs outscored their competition 80-9.

Sunday, Cody looked to make it a clean sweep of five games and five run-ruled victories after jumping out to a 4-0 lead in the bottom of the first inning en route to a 7-1 win over the Hawks.

Keegan Brown, Jordan Wasia and Jared Grenz got the Cub offense clicking early with three consecutive hits to open the game. Additional hits from Conner McLeod and Jack Harris gave the top-seeded team from the Western Conference the early advantage.

Cheyenne’s starting pitcher Trenton Rodriquez settled down and recorded six straight outs, while the Hawks got on the scoreboard after a pair of walks and a hit batsman.

In the fourth inning, Cody added one run over the final three innings to pull away for the decisive victory.

The Cubs got RBIs from Keegan Brown in the fourth and Cooper Brown in the fifth, both coming in the form of a sacrifice fly.

Keegan Brown drove in Harris with one out in the bottom of the seventh for what proved to be the games’ final run.

McLeod, Cody’s only pitcher of the game, went the distance for the Cubs, striking out 10 and limiting Cheyenne to only one hit over seven innings of work. For his efforts last week, McLeod earned Tournament MVP honors.

Offensively, which Keegan Brown led the Cubs who went 2-for-3 with two RBIs, while Grenz added two more hits.

For Cheyenne, Tyler Schlagel tallied the teams only hit of the game in the top of the sixth inning. Rodriquez was tagged with the loss, striking out two over 5 1/3 innings.

With the win, Cody advances to the Northwest Regional Tournament in Lewiston, Idaho.

Postseason awards

First team All-State:

Harrison Taubert (Casper Drillers), Tyler Schlagel (Cheyenne Hawks), Cooper Brown (Cody Cubs), Keegan Brown (Cody Cubs), Jared Grenz (Cody Cubs), Heston Williams (Cody Cubs), Mason Barker (Douglas Cats), Michael Bobrowski (Douglas Cats), Tommy Kelly (Green River Knights), Joe Schlutz (Green River Knights), Jeremy Schneider (Lovell Mustangs), Cody Frazier (Riverton Raiders) and Ridge McCoy (Riverton Raiders)

Second team All-State:

Andrew Johnson (Cheyenne Hawks), Brady Storebo (Cheyenne Hawks), Grant Redman (Cheyenne Hawks), Connor McLeod (Cody Cubs), Jordan Wasia (Cody Cubs), Cy Deluna (Douglas Cats), Ransom Ollie (Douglas Cats), Damon Wagner (Rawlins Generals), Jaren Draper (Riverton Raiders), Matt Fischer (Riverton Raiders), Cameron Murphy (Torrington Tigers), Joel Anderson (Wheatland Lobos) and Mytch Pollock (Wheatland Lobos)

A-League Player of the Year: Jared Grenz - Cody Cubs

A-League Pitcher of the Year: Heston Williams – Cody Cubs

A-League Coach of the Year: Michael Jameson – Lovell Mustangs

A-League State Tournament MVP: Connor McLeod - Cody Cubs

A-League State Tournament Sportsmanship Award: Torrington Tigers

Video News
More In Sports