Blazer football trio honored by USA Today Sports

TORRINGTON – A trio of Torrington High School football players saw postseason awards continue to roll in.

Late last week, USA Today Sports released its All-USA Wyoming Football Team, based on athletic achievements from the 2018 season.

The list is regardless of classification.

“Anytime you get your guys recognized state wide, with all five classifications,” THS coach Mark Lenhardt said. “To get three players on the first team – one on defense and two on offense – speaks to what a great season we had and what hard work those three individuals put in.”

THS running back Bryan Lemmon was named Offensive Player of the Year, while Scott Woodruff and Josh Kingsley also earned first team honors.

“It’s icing on the cake for Bryan to be the offensive player of the year,” Lenhardt said. “I felt like he deserved a little bit more in terms of his postseason accolades. I felt like he could have been the Casper Star Tribune’s Super 25 Offensive Player of the Year. I’m glad he got the accolade he deserved.”

The senior carried the ball 223 times for 1,851 yards and 29 touchdowns. Lemmon also caught 24 passes for 509 yards and eight scores.

Woodruff joined Lemmon on the offensive first team, helping clear the way for Lemmon on the offensive line.

On the defensive side of the ball, Kingsley earned first-team honors.

Kingsley led the state with seven sacks to go along with five additional tackles for loss and two fumble recoveries to anchor Class 3As best defense who was the only team to give up less than 200 yards per game.

“I’m really happy for Scotty and JK as well,” Lenhardt said. “All three of those players were the core of our football team all season. They definitely deserved that award.”


First team: Mason Hamilton (Thunder Basin), Parker Christensen (Sheridan), Bryan Lemmon (Torrington), Chase Merrell (Star Valley), Blaine Allen (Thunder Basin), Davion McAdam (Kelly Walsh), Seth Mullinax (Big Horn), Trevon Smith (Natrona County), Jacob Fernandez (Cheyenne East), Parker Merritt (Star Valley) and Scott Woodruff (Torrington)

Second team: Quinn McCafferty (Big Horn), Brock Spiegelberg (Kelly Walsh), Dante Wallace (Natrona County), Aaron Theile (Buffalo), Nico Vite (Cheyenne Central), Conrad Swenson (Lander), Hunter Gross (Mountain View), Ben Kruzich (Laramie), Brendan Jordan (Thunder Basin), Yahav Shraiber (Natrona County) and Bridger Barker (Evanston)


First team: Josh Kingsley (Torrington), Colby Rees (Mountain View), Marcus Glick (Thunder Basin) Jordan Bertagnole (Natrona County), Chase Brachtenbach (Natrona County), Ian Arnold (Glenrock), Kade Eisele (Big Horn), Lain Mitchelson (Farson-Eden), Dax Yeradi (Wright), Jeydon Cox (Jackson) and Tucker Bopp (Glenrock)

Second team: Jerrett Schloredt (Upton-Sundance), Cardon Heinen (Powell), Latham Hodges (Thunder Basin), Keith Conner (Cody), Garrett Coon (Sheridan), Bentley Johnson (Cokeville), Zack Keisel (Greybull), Jhett George (Natrona County), Blain Dilly (Cheyenne Central), Chance Aumiller (Cheyenne East) and Quinn Heyneman (Sheridan)

Special teams: Luke Glassock (Buffalo)

Coach of the Year: McKay Young (Star Valley)

Offensive Player of the Year: Bryan Lemmon (Torrington)

Defensive Player of the Year: Kade Eisele (Big Horn)

Video News
More In Sports