Four new trustees elected to GCSD board

GOSHEN COUNTY – The most contested race in Goshen County on Election Day was undoubtedly the Goshen County School District No. 1 board race that brought 11 candidates for just five seats. 

Carlos Saucedo won reelection, and Dylan Hager, Michael Sussex, Taylor Schmick and Matthew Cushman will serve their first term on the board per results from the Goshen County Clerk’s Office.

“I’d like to congratulate all those elected to the board,” Saucedo said. “I look forward to working with them the next four years to do what’s best for our kids. I’d like to thank all those who voted for me and put their faith in me.”

Sussex, Cushman and Hager ran with Sharlet Duffy and Garrett Meyer in support of removal of COVID-19 restrictions, communication and transparency, Constitutional rights of parents and a patriotic curriculum, according to their campaign literature.

“We have a lot of work to do and will be faced with many tough decisions in the near future,” Sussex wrote in an email to The Telegram. “These are unprecedented times with much uncertainty in virtually all aspects of life. As Trustees we must always keep in mind that above all else, and by any means necessary our job is to provide Goshen County students with a quality education.”

“I hope I can serve the people that voted for me well and we can get a lot accomplished and work with the teachers and the administrators to get stuff done,” Cushman said.

“I would like to thank Goshen County for the support, I’m excited to get started,” Hager wrote in a text message to The Telegram. 

“I am honored to have been elected for a position on the school board,” Schmick wrote in a text message to The Telegram. “At the end of the day this job is about our schools and youth in our community and that is something that I do not take lightly.”

Ryan Clayton was not reelected to the board.

“I’d like to thank all those that actually ran for the position,” Saucedo said. “I think it’s great that they showed the motivation and the drive to be able to do what’s best for our kids and our community.”

New members of the board will be sworn in during the regular meeting in December.

The Eastern Wyoming College Board of Trustees had four positions open for a four-year term and one position open with a two-year term. 

Randy Adams, Robert Baumgartner and Mike Varney were re-elected to four-year terms while Judith Bartman was re-elected to the two-year position. Bartman ran unopposed.

Kurt Sittner was newly elected to the board and will be sworn in at the Tuesday, Nov. 10 meeting of the Board of Trustees.

Adams told The Telegram in an email, “I’m pleased to be able to continue my service on the EWC Board of Trustees. It, like all my other ventures in life, has been a great learning experience.”

Adams recognizes the issues facing EWC in these tough times and expressed he is ready for the challenges ahead.

“EWC has some tough hurdles to cross in the next couple years and, hopefully, the college can benefit from my knowledge and experience in finding solutions.”

Baugmgartner said in an email, “I would just like to say that I am honored to have been elected for a second term to the EWC Board of Trustees and to be able to serve the citizens of Goshen County.”

Baumgartner said he would like to thank everyone for their support and vote.


Video News
More In Home