Six THS players earn postseason accolades

TORRINGTON – As the basketball season came to a close last week with the Class 3A State Basketball Tournament in Casper, six Torrington High School student-athletes earned postseason basketball awards earlier this week.

Junior Reece Halley led the way with 3A East All-Conference and 3A All-State honors.

Halley averaged 16.7 points and 9.7 rebounds per game to lead the Lady Blazers in both state categories.

Juniors Sierra Allen and Mattie Jones joined Halley on the East All-Conference team. Allen was second on the team in scoring with 8.4 points and rebounds with 8.8 rebounds per game. Jones added 6.1 points and dished out 2.2 assists per game.

Torrington senior Michaela Moorehouse and junior AJ West was named to the honorable mention East All-Conference team.

The Lady Blazers finished the season with an 11-12 record.

For the boys’ team, junior Kieser Wolfe was the lone member of the team to earn postseason accolades.

Wolfe led the team, averaging 11.2 points and 4.5 rebounds per game.

The Blazers season came to a close in the opening round of the 3A East Regional Tournament with a 3-16 record.

Class 3A Girls All-State:

Rylee Jo Ward (Burns), Allyson Fertig (Douglas), Joslin Igo (Douglas), Allison Olsen (Douglas), Kamdynn Townsend (Douglas), Demi Stauffenberg (Lander Valley), Sage Bradshaw (Lyman), Brice Hansen (Lyman), Jaylen Ostenson (Newcastle), Roxanne Rogers (Pinedale), Brooke Palmer (Rawlins), Reece Halley (Torrington), Khayla Otero (Wheatland) and Darla Hernandez (Worland)

Class 3A Girls East All-Conference:

Cantrell Rosalez (Buffalo), Rylee Jo Ward (Burns), Allyson Fertig (Douglas), Joslin Igo (Douglas), Allison Olsen (Douglas), Kamdynn Townsend (Douglas), Jaylen Ostenson (Newcastle), Shelby Tidyman (Newcastle), McKenzie Earl (Rawlins), Brooke Palmer (Rawlins), Kamry Bowman (Thermopolis), Sierra Allen (Torrington), Reece Halley (Torrington), Mattie Jones (Torrington), Kaesha Davis (Wheatland), Khayla Otero (Wheatland)

Honorable Mention All-Conference: Michaela Moorehouse (Torrington) and AJ West (Torrington)

Player of the Year: Allyson Fertig (Douglas)

Class 3A East Boys All-Conference

Coy Johnson (Buffalo), Eli Patterson (Buffalo), Calvin Rule (Buffalo), Hunter Stone (Buffalo), Jackson Kirkbride (Burns), Nate Halquist (Douglas), Kyle Igo (Douglas), Cam Spence (Douglas), Zach Purviance (Newcastle), Mitchell Allard (Rawlins), Ashton Barto (Rawlins), Colton Ice (Rawlins), Eli Kern (Rawlins), Hardy Johnson (Thermopolis), Kieser Wolfe (Torrington), Kade Preuit (Wheatland)

Player of the Year: Kade Preuit (Wheatland)


Video News
More In Sports