Four Torrington hoopsters earn postseason awards

TORRINGTON – Four members of the Torrington High School Blazer and Lady Blazer basketball teams earned postseason accolades announced Tuesday morning.

Senior Sam Hill and sophomore Reece Halley made the 3A East All-Conference team, while Halley also made the 3A All-State list.

Halley led the Lady Blazers in scoring and rebounding, averaging 11.1 points and 7.2 rebounds per game, while Hill was second in scoring and rebounding, scoring 6.8 points per game and grabbing 6.8 rebounds per game.

The Lady Blazers finished the season 12-10, coming up win shy at regionals to qualify for the state tournament.

On the boys’ team, seniors Jackson Jones and Sam Firminhac were named to the 3A East All-Conference team, while Jones also earned All-State honors.

Jones led the team with 17.1 points per game while being second on the team in rebounding with 6.1 per game. Firminhac was second on the team in scoring with 14.1 points per game while leading the team in rebounds with 7.6 per game.

The Blazers finished the 2019-20 season with a 9-13 record and were scheduled to play Big Piney in the first round of the state tournament.


All-State: Kamdynn Townsend (Douglas), Joslin Igo (Douglas), Allyson Fertig (Douglas), Demi Stauffenburg (Lander), Mandy Eyre (Lyman), Brice Hansen (Lyman), Hailey Stephens (Mountain View), Jaylen Ostenson (Newcastle), Roxanne Rogers (Pinedale), Brooke Palmer (Rawlins), Ashley McPhie (Thermopolis), Reece Halley (Torrington), Danielle Brow (Wheatland) and Darla Hernandez (Worland)

All-Conference: Rylee Ward (Burns), Kamdynn Townsend (Douglas), Joslin Igo (Douglas), Riley Seeds (Douglas), Allyson Fertig (Douglas), Jaylen Ostenson (Newcastle), Jordan Jerome (Rawlins), Brooke Palmer (Rawlins), McKenzie Earl (Rawlins), Ashley McPhie (Thermopolis), McKenna Bomengen (Thermopolis), Reece Halley (Torrington), Sam Hill (Torrington), Danielle Brow (Wheatland) and Khayla Otero (Wheatland)


All-State: Luke Mortimer (Worland), Luke Anderson (Wheatland), Niieihii Black (Lander), Rudy Sanford (Worland), Bryan St. Clair (Lander), Dylon Tidyman (Newcastle), Ashton Barto (Rawlins), Braedan Walk (Mountain View), Jackson Jones (Torrington), Bryan Pluid (Big Piney), Mack Page (Worland), Hadley Sims (Big Piney), Hunter Peterson (Buffalo)

All-Conference: Dawson Hatch (Buffalo), Hunter Peterson (Buffalo), Hunter Stone (Buffalo), A.J. Yeaman (Douglas), Kyle Igo (Douglas), Dylon Tidyman (Newcastle), Mitchell Allard (Rawlins), Ryan Flack (Rawlins), Ashton Barto (Rawlins), Duder Harvey (Thermopolis), Jarron Mortimore (Thermopolis), Sam Firminhac (Torrington), Jackson Jones (Torrington), Luke Anderson (Wheatland), Kobey Preuit (Wheatland) and Kade Preuit (Wheatland)


© 2020-The Torrington Telegram

Video News
More In Sports