Conference baseball awards announced

TORRINGTON – The Torrington Tiger trio of Jackson Jones, Caeden Riley and Ben Firminhac were named to the 2021 East ‘A’ All-Conference team on Wednesday morning.

Jones and Riley were unanimous first team selections, while Firminhac made the second team.

Jones leads the Tigers in batting average, hitting .410 on the season, to go along with 21 RBIs and 39 runs scores. He has hit one home run and four triples. On the mound, Jones is 3-3 on the season with a 3.79 ERA with 51 strike outs.

In addition to the all-conference selection, Riley also nabbed East Pitcher of the Year honors. Riley is 4-3 with a 3.96 ERA, striking out 85. At the plate, Riley is hitting .253 with 14 RBIs and 23 runs scored.

Meanwhile, Firminhac is hitting .404 and leads the team with 36 RBIs and 39 runs scored.

The Tigers wrap up the season at the Wyoming ‘A’ State Tournament, which begins this weekend in Cheyenne. Torrington will face the Cody Cubs in the opening round at 4 p.m. Saturday.

East Conference first team

*Jordan Bobrowski (Douglas), *Nathan Hutchison (Riverton), *Jackson Jones (Torrington), *Bryce Locklin (Casper), *Caeden Riley (Torrington), Blake Dale (Riverton), Cross Hernandez (Wheatland), Mytchell Pollock (Wheatland), Cameryn Spence (Douglas), Jordan Tharp (Casper), Justin Wicks (Casper) and Corey Williams (Cheyenne)

* unanimous

East Conference second team

Kade Coates (Cheyenne), Kiegan Field (Cheyenne), Ben Firminhac (Torrington), Aquilo Friday (Riverton), Neg Hageman (Wheatland), Hunter Hauck (Riverton), Jake Hicks (Wheatland), Marcus Mongiello (Douglas), Sawyer Nielson (Casper) and Zack Virtue (Douglas)

East Player of the Year: Cross Hernandez (Wheatland)

East Pitchers of the Year: Caeden Riley (Torrington), Cameryn Spence (Douglas) and Mytchell Pollock (Wheatland)

Coach of the Year: Mick Cochran (Wheatland)



More In Sports